Padilla, Colleagues Introduce Senate Resolution in Solidarity with UAW Workers on Strike

The resolution calls on the Big Three Automakers to negotiate in good faith and offer their workers a fair contract

WASHINGTON, D.C. — Today, U.S. Senators Alex Padilla (D-Calif.), Bernie Sanders (I-Vt.), Chairman of the Senate Health, Education, Labor, and Pensions Committee, and Sherrod Brown (D-Ohio), along with 31 of their colleagues in the Senate, introduced a resolution expressing solidarity with the 150,000 members of United Auto Workers (UAW) bargaining for a fair contract, with 34,000 currently on strike.

One of the largest U.S. strikes in the past three decades, autoworkers voted to go on strike in September — calling for a fair share of the record-breaking profits their labor produces as well as cost-of-living adjustments, an end to the two-tier wage system, and restoration of pension benefits. Since then, the strike has expanded to 44 locations across 22 states, including at two distribution facilities in Southern California.

“I’m proud to stand firmly with the United Auto Workers as they rightfully make their voices heard to finally get their fair share of the Big 3’s record-breaking profits,” said Senator Padilla. “It is shameful that as profit margins grow for these companies, UAW workers struggle to put food on the table or get the medications they need. Every worker deserves the fundamental right to organize and fight for a fair contract, and I urge the Big 3 to come to the table with a good-faith solution for these workers.”

Padilla, Sanders, and Brown were joined on the resolution by Senators Tammy Baldwin (D-Wis.), Elizabeth Warren (D-Mass.), John Fetterman (D-Pa.), Brian Schatz (D-Hawaii), Dick Durbin (D-Ill.), Ben Ray Luján (D-N.M.), Jack Reed (D-R.I.), Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.), Tina Smith (D-Minn.), Ed Markey (D-Mass.), Mazie Hirono (D-Hawaii), Ron Wyden (D-Ore.), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-R.I.), Tammy Duckworth (D-Ill.), Gary Peters (D-Mich.), John Hickenlooper (D-Colo.), Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.), Peter Welch (D-Vt.), Chris Van Hollen (D-Md.), Chris Murphy (D-Conn.), Bob Menendez (D-N.J.), Bob Casey (D-Pa.), Cory Booker (D-N.J.), Jeff Merkley (D-Ore.), Martin Heinrich (D-N.M.), Laphonza Butler (D-Calif.), Ben Cardin (D-Md.), Kirsten Gillibrand (D-N.Y.), Josh Hawley (R-Mo.), Michael Bennet (D-Colo.), and Raphael Warnock (D-Ga.).

Full text of the resolution is available here.


This site is registered on as a development site.