Immigration Chairs Padilla and Lofgren Laud the Biden Administration for Granting TPS for Ukraine

WASHINGTON, D.C. — Today, U.S. Senator Alex Padilla and Representative Zoe Lofgren (both D-Calif), chairs of the Senate and House Judiciary subcommittees on Immigration, released the following statement after the Biden Administration announced it will designate Temporary Protected Status (TPS) for Ukraine:

“We’re grateful to see the Biden Administration heed our calls and take swift, just action to grant Ukrainian nationals in the United States with protection from deportation to a country currently under a brutal, unprovoked assault by Vladimir Putin. Our prayers are with the people of Ukraine and we continue to stand firmly behind them as they defend their home and their democracy.”

Padilla and Lofgren called on the Biden Administration to designate Temporary Protected Status (TPS) or Deferred Enforced Departure (DED) for civilians fleeing the violence in Ukraine last week.


Related Issues
This site is registered on as a development site.