Padilla Joins Resolution Recognizing Contributions and Accomplishments of Immigrants in America

The resolution commemorates June as ‘Immigrant Heritage Month’

WASHINGTON, D.C. — U.S. Senator Alex Padilla (D-Calif.) joined Bob Menendez (D-N.J.) and a group of 13 Senate colleagues in introducing a resolution recognizing June 2022 as “Immigrant Heritage Month.” The resolution uplifts the immense contributions immigrants and their children have made to America’s institutions, economy, history, and culture and was presented on the 10th year anniversary of the Obama Administration creating the Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) program, which has transformed the lives of hundreds of thousands of young immigrants who were brought to the United States as children. California has the largest immigrant population in the United States and is home to nearly 25 percent of the country’s immigrants. Representative Ritchie Torres (D-N.Y.-15) led the companion resolution in the House of Representatives.

“America is a nation of immigrants and as the proud son of Mexican immigrants, I have witnessed firsthand the contributions that immigrants make to our country and how they enrich our communities and bolster our economy,” said Senator Padilla. “This June, we formally recognize and celebrate the many accomplishments of our country’s diverse immigrant families and recommit ourselves to bold, thoughtful immigration reform.”

“As the proud son of Cuban refugees, I have never forgotten my family’s immigrant story – one that allowed me to rise from a tenement in New Jersey to be one of 100 United States Senators. Their story continues to inspire my work each and every day, and it is why I am proud to be leading this effort with Rep. Ritchie Torres in recognition of immigrants and their families for their many contributions to the fabric of America,” said Senator Menendez. “Immigrants deserve our country’s collective gratitude for everything they do to strengthen America’s promise, and this resolution is a reaffirmation of my commitment to always standing with immigrants all across the country until we achieve bold, humane, and inclusive immigration reform.”

“On the 10th anniversary of DACA, I am proud to again join Senator Menendez in highlighting June to celebrate DACA recipients and their families,” said Representative Torres. “As a nation of immigrants, we recognize their contributions have shaped American culture and strengthened our economy. Marking June as Immigrant Heritage Month acknowledges the strength of our immigrant communities, and sends the message that the United States will always welcome immigrants from across the globe.”

The bicameral resolution celebrates the countless contributions by immigrant families for a healthier, safer, more diverse, prosperous country, and acknowledges their importance to the future successes of the United States. The resolution also calls for Members of Congress, executive agencies, and the President to promote smart and just immigration policy for immigrants presently in the country, their families, and individuals seeking to immigrate to the United States in the future.

“Each year, Immigrant Heritage Month reminds us that everyone has a unique story to tell, and that our country is so much stronger when we welcome and celebrate that diversity, and share those stories with each other,” said Todd Schulte, President of “This year, on the tenth anniversary of the DACA program, we honor this successful policy that has empowered hundreds of thousands of young people to make extraordinary contributions to our country and economy. We thank Senator Menendez for championing meaningful reform that brings dignity to peoples’ lives.”

In addition to Senators Padilla and Menendez, the resolution is co-sponsored by Senators Catherine Cortez Masto (D-Nev.), Elizabeth Warren (D-Mass.), Tammy Duckworth (D-Ill.), Ben Ray Luján (D-N.M.), Mazie Hirono (D-Hawaii), Cory Booker (D-N.J.), Raphael Warnock (D-Ga.), Ron Wyden (D-Ore.), Ed Markey (D-Mass.), Ben Cardin (D-Md.), Jacky Rosen (D-Nev.), and Patty Murray (D-Wash.).

Find a copy of the resolution HERE.


This site is registered on as a development site.