Padilla Joins Menendez, Cornyn, Colleagues in Introducing Bicameral Senate Resolution Commemorating Hispanic Heritage Month

Hispanic Heritage Month is celebrated from September 15th through October 15th

WASHINGTON, D.C. — U.S. Senator Alex Padilla (D-Calif.) joined Senators Bob Menendez (D-N.J.), John Cornyn (R-Texas), and 46 of their Senate colleagues in introducing a Senate resolution that recognizes September 15th through October 15th, 2021 as a month to celebrate and honor the invaluable contributions of Hispanic and Latino Americans in the United States. The commemoration of Hispanic Heritage Month started in 1968 as ‘Hispanic Heritage Week’ under President Lyndon B. Johnson. President Ronald Reagan subsequently expanded the celebration in 1988 to cover a 30-day period starting on September 15th and ending on October 15th.

Senator Padilla is the first Latino to represent California in the United States Senate. Earlier this year, Senators Padilla and Menendez launched the first-ever Hispanic-Serving Institutions Senate Caucus, which they will co-chair. Padilla marked the beginning of Hispanic Heritage Month by delivering a speech on the floor of U.S. Senate to celebrate the important work of Willie Velasquez, a Latino voting rights leader who fought tirelessly to improve access to the ballot in Latino communities.

“As the first Latino to represent California in the U.S. Senate, it is a privilege to formally recognize Hispanic Heritage Month and the significant contributions of Latinos and Hispanic Americans,” said Senator Padilla.“The success of Latino families, immigrants, and working-class individuals in the face of adversity has enriched the diversity and success of this country. And I remain committed to taking action to build a better future for Latino communities in California and across the country.”

“Hispanics have always been an important part of the fabric of American society, full of only love for this country and responsible for countless contributions,” said Senator Menendez. “As the Hispanic American community continues to grow, we will only become an even more integral part of this country and will help expand economic opportunities for all. I commend my colleagues from both sides of the aisle for supporting this resolution and I hope they will work with me and others to implement policies that will provide Hispanic Americans with greater opportunity.”

“Any Texan will tell you that Hispanic culture is as much a part of our state’s foundation as the ground our cities are built on,” said Senator Cornyn. “This bipartisan resolution will honor the more than 11 million Hispanic Americans that call Texas home, and I’m proud to help usher it through Congress.”

“For over a year, Hispanic Americans have served on the frontlines of this pandemic, educating our children, serving as medical workers, and making sure that our communities have everything they need to survive,” said Senator Cortez Masto. “The resilience and determination of the Hispanic community has played an integral role in our nation’s path to recovery, and this year more than ever it is vital that we recognize their countless contributions to the United States. In my home state of Nevada, more than one in four Nevadans is Latino, and I’m proud to continue honoring their invaluable place in our state and nation.”

“With a rich culture and long-held traditions that have become part of the fabric of our nation, the Hispanic community has played a vital role in American society and continues to produce leaders in every facet – from serving in our military, to teaching in the classroom, to running small businesses, to leading in the arts, science, and medicine, and taking care of our entire country as essential workers. This year and every year, we need to honor the resilience and the creativity of our community. This resolution is an important part of that celebration,” said Senator Luján.

Congressman Tony Cárdenas (D-Calif.-29) led 36 of his colleagues in introducing a companion resolution in the House of Representatives.

“Latino history is American history, inseparable from the birth of our nation to the present, and into its bright future,” said Representative Cardenas. “Our community’s involvement and influence on America’s cultural, economic and political tapestry is something that deserves both recognition and celebration. It is with great pride that we lead a resolution that honors the inspiring contributions of our diverse communities to this country.”

The Senate resolution recognizes the immense contributions of Latinos and Latinas to the economy, culture, and identity of the United States. This point has never been more salient than during the COVID-19 pandemic, as Latinos and Latinas across the country kept our country afloat by working essential, front-line jobs and will play an even more critical role as the nation recovers from the ongoing impacts of this unprecedented health crisis.

Hispanic Americans are the largest racial or ethnic minority group in the U.S., representing more than 62 million people (18.7% of the U.S. population), plus another 3.2 million in Puerto Rico. Fifteen States – Arizona, California, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Massachusetts, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, Texas, and Washington – have nearly one million or more Latino and Latina residents.

In addition to Senators Padilla, Menendez, and Cornyn, the Senate resolution was co-sponsored by Senators Tammy Baldwin (D-Wis.), Michael Bennet (D-Colo.), Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.), Cory Booker (D-N.J.), Sherrod Brown (D-Ohio), Maria Cantwell (D-Wash.), Ben Cardin (D-Md.), Tom Carper (D-Del.), Bob Casey (D-Pa.), Chris Coons (D-Del.), Catherine Cortez Masto (D-Nev.), Tammy Duckworth (D-Ill.), Richard Durbin (D-Ill.), Dianne Feinstein (D-Calif.), Maggie Hassan (D-N.H.), Martin Heinrich (D-N.M.), John Hickenlooper (D-Colo.), Mazie Hirono (D-Hawaii), Tim Kaine (D-Va.), Mark Kelly (D-Ariz.), Angus King (I-Maine), Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.), Ben Ray Lujan (D-N.M.), Ed Markey (D-Mass.), Jeff Merkley (D-Ore.), Chris Murphy (D-Conn.), Jon Ossoff (D-Ga.), Alex Padilla (D-Calif.), Jack Reed (D-R.I.), Jacky Rosen (D-Nev.), Chuck Schumer (D-N.Y.), Jeanne Shaheen (D-N.H), Kyrsten Sinema (D-Ariz.), Tina Smith (D-Minn.), Chris Van Hollen (D-Md.), Mark Warner (D-Va.), Raphael Warnock (D-Ga.), Elizabeth Warren (D-Mass.), Ron Wyden (D-Ore.), Bernie Sanders (I-Vt.), Marco Rubio (R-Fla.), Susan Collins (R-Maine), Bill Hagerty (R-Tenn.), Marsha Blackburn (R-Tenn.), Mike Braun (R-Ind.), Tim Scott (R-S.C.), and Rick Scott (R-Fla.).

In addition to Representative Cárdenas, the companion House resolution was co-sponsored by Representatives Albio Sires (D-N.J.-08), Anna Eshoo (D-Calif.-18), Carolyn Bourdeaux (D-Ga.-07), Carolyn Maloney (D-N.Y.-12), Dina Titus (D-Nev.-01), Eleanor Holmes Norton (D-D.C.), Grace Napolitano (D-Calif.-32), Ilhan Omar (D-Minn.-05), J. Luis Correa (D-Calif.-46), James Langevin (D-R.I.-02), Jamie Raskin (D-Md.-08), Jan Schakowsky (D-Ill.-09), Jesús G. “Chuy García (D-Ill.-04), Jim Costa (D-Calif.-16), Juan Vargas (D-Calif.-51), Kathleen Rice (D-N.Y.-04), Linda Sánchez (D-Calif.-38), Lori Trahan (D-Mass.-03), Lucille Roybal-Allard (D-Calif.-40), Marcy Kaptur (D-Ohio-09), Marie Newman (D-Ill.-03), Michael F.Q. San Nicolas (D-Guam), Nanette Díaz-Barragán (D-Calif.-44), Norma Torres (D-Calif.-35), Pete Aguilar (D-Calif.-31), Raul Ruiz (D-Calif.-36), Ruben Gallego (D-Ariz.-07), Salud Carbajal (D-Calif.-24), Sara Jacobs (D-Calif.-53), Stephen Lynch (D-Mass.-08), Suzan DelBene (D-Wash.-01), Sylvia Garcia (D-Texas-29), Teresa Leger Fernández (D-N.M.-03), Thomas Suozzi (D-N.Y.-03), Tom O’Halleran (D-Ariz.-01), and Vicente Gonzalez (D-Texas-15).

The full text of the resolution can be found HERE.


This site is registered on as a development site.