United States Senate

WASHINGTON, DC 20510

May 1, 2025

The Honorable John Thune Majority Leader United States Senate Room S-230, The Capitol Washington, D.C. 20510 The Honorable John Barrasso Majority Whip United States Senate Room S-208, The Capitol Washington, D.C. 20510

Dear Leader Thune and Whip Barrasso:

We write to emphasize the far-reaching and likely irreversible consequences if the current Senate Majority were to overrule the Senate Parliamentarian's recent decision that a joint resolution of disapproval regarding three Clean Air Act preemption waivers granted by the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) to the state of California would not be entitled to expedited procedures in the Senate.

In reaching that decision, the Senate Parliamentarian relied on the determination made by the independent, non-partisan Government Accountability Office (GAO) that the three Clean Air Act preemption waivers do not qualify as "rules" under the Congressional Review Act (CRA).

GAO's determination should not be seen as novel or surprising because it is consistent with fifty years of agency practice. Even prominent Senate opponents of *the Clean Air Act* waiver provision—including Energy and Natural Resources Committee Chairman Lee and Environment and Public Works Committee Chairman Capito—have previously acknowledged in legislation and public materials that these waivers are not subject to CRA review.¹

We, however, do not write to relitigate the determination by GAO or the question already decided by the Parliamentarian. Both parties have been on the losing end of decisions by the Parliamentarian. We ourselves were on the losing end of several decisions by the Parliamentarian during the 117th Congress. But we did not attempt to overrule these decisions, even though we did not agree with them.

Now, we understand that some may be considering overruling the Parliamentarian's decision.² While that might be more expedient than agency rulemaking³ or considering legislation under the Senate's normal rules, such an action would be a procedural nuclear option—a dramatic break from Senate precedent with profound institutional consequences.

¹ See, e.g., Sen. Mike Lee, <u>One-Pager, 119^hCongress: "Stop CARB Act"</u> (arguing that amending the statute is necessary because "California's power to influence national emissions standards for the auto, locomotive, and boating industries is not subject to Congressional review, meaning Congress does not have the ability to stop CARB.").

² See, Inside Congress, Politico (April 28, 2025),

https://www.politico.com/newsletters/inside-congress/2025/04/28/markup-madness-begins-00312128 3 We note that EPA may choose to use the normal administrative process to withdraw a previously-granted Clean Air Act waiver, and indeed, this is what the Trump administration chose to do in 2019 with respect to a different waiver.

If the current Senate Majority were to open this door, the CRA could be weaponized to retroactively invalidate decades of agency actions—including adjudications, permits, and licensing decisions that were never previously considered "rules"—and effectively hijack the Senate floor. In addition, if efforts to invalidate such actions were successful, future administrations would face significant obstacles utilizing the underlying authorities for any arguably similar actions, given the plain text of the CRA. Most importantly, however, once that precedent is set, a future Senate Majority could subsequently apply it to legislation beyond the CRA. Put bluntly, there is no cabining a decision to overrule the Parliamentarian.

We therefore urge you to weigh these issues carefully—with full knowledge of the consequences —should you consider whether to overrule the Parliamentarian regarding a CRA resolution disapproving the Clean Air Act preemption waivers.

Sincerely,

Charles E. Schumer United States Senator Minority Leader

Alex Padilla

United States Senator Ranking Member, Committee on Rules and Administration

Sheldon Whitehouse United States Senator Ranking Member, Senate Committee on Environment & Public Works

Richard J. Durbin United States Senator Ranking Member, Senate Committee on the Judiciary

Ron Wyden

United States Senator Ranking Member, Committee on Finance

Jack Reed United States Senator Ranking Member, Committee on Armed Services

Patty Murray United States Senator Vice Chair, Senate Committee on Appropriations

Brian Schatz United States Senator Vice Chairman, Committee on Indian Affairs

Numer

Mark R. Warner United States Senator Vice Chairman, Select Committee on Intelligence

- Klobchan

Amy Klobuchar Untied States Senator Ranking Member, Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition, and Forestry

United States Senator Ranking Member, Committee on Budget

anne Shaheen

Jeanne Shaheen United States Senator Ranking Member, Senate Foreign Relations Committee

Kinsten Gillibrand

Kirsten Gillibrand United States Senator Ranking Member, Special Committee on Aging

ligaluth

Elizabeth Warren United States Senator Ranking Member, Committee on Banking, Housing, and Urban Affairs

Martin Heinrich

United States Senator Ranking Member, Committee on Energy and Natural Resources

Maria Cantwell United States Senator Ranking Member, Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation

Edward J. Ma

Edward J. Markey United States Senator Ranking Member, Committee on Small Business and Entrepreneurship

ihard Blomin

Richard Blumenthal United States Senator Ranking Member, Senate Committee on Veterans' Affairs

Maggie Hassan Margaret Wood Hassan

Margaret Wood Hassan United States Senator Ranking Member, Joint Economic Committee

Christopher A. Coons United States Senator

CC: The Honorable John Boozman The Honorable Shelley Moore Capito The Honorable Bill Cassidy The Honorable Susan Collins The Honorable Tom Cotton The Honorable Mike Crapo The Honorable Ted Cruz The Honorable Joni Ernst The Honorable Lindsey Graham The Honorable Chuck Grassley The Honorable James Lankford The Honorable Mike Lee The Honorable Mitch McConnell The Honorable Jerry Moran The Honorable Lisa Murkowski The Honorable Rand Paul The Honorable James Risch The Honorable Eric Schmitt The Honorable Rick Scott The Honorable Tim Scott The Honorable Roger Wicker