## United States Senate

November 2, 2021

The Honorable Pete Buttigieg Secretary Department of Transportation 1200 New Jersey Avenue, SE Washington, DC 20590

Dear Secretary Buttigieg:

We write to urge the reestablishment of the Advisory Committee on Transportation Equity within the Department of Transportation, which would help ensure that proposed investments in our nation's infrastructure redress historic barriers to mobility and promote economic opportunity for all.

The Committee was established in late 2016 to provide independent advice and recommendations to the Secretary of Transportation about comprehensive, interdisciplinary issues related to transportation equity. Furthermore, the Committee was formed to strengthen and establish partnerships with other governmental agencies, empower communities to have a meaningful voice in local and regional transportation decisions, and prevent discrimination. Unfortunately, the previous administration failed to convene this Committee and eliminated it in early 2018, nearly a year before its initial charter was set to expire.

We believe that permanently reinstating the Committee would align with the Biden Administration's commitment to integrating equity throughout the President's Build Back Better agenda. We also believe that the Committee would help recognize and address the impact of our transportation infrastructure on climate change, health, housing, disability rights, environmental justice, safety, and other issues through meaningful collaboration.

As we work to recover from the COVID-19 pandemic, we must ensure that the historic investments we seek to enact help revitalize communities, connect neighborhoods, and incorporate community input. We urge you to reestablish the Committee to emphasize these goals and foster opportunity in all communities. We look forward to continuing to work with you to support transportation equity and build a better future for all Americans.

Sincerely,

United States Senator

Thomas R. Carper United States Senator

R., UNWS

Raphael G. Warnock United States Senator

0 Cardin

Benjamin L. Cardin United States Senator

Martin Heinrich United States Senator

)en Ka

Ben Ray Lujan United States Senator

Bernard Sanders United States Senator

Edward J. Markey

Edward J. Markey United States Senator

inc

Tina Smith United States Senator

Richard Blumenthal United States Senator

Jeffrey A. Merkley United States Senator

Ron Wyden

Ron Wyden United States Senator

Fammy Baldwin United States Senator

Chris Van Hollen United States Senator

- Cover

Robert P. Casey, Jr. United States Senator

Tammy Duckwath

Tammy Duckworth United States Senator

Klobchan

Amy Klobuchar United States Senator