Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

March 29, 2023

The Honorable Joseph R. Biden President of the United States The White House 1600 Pennsylvania Ave, NW Washington, DC 20500

Dear President Biden:

We write in support of the State of California's request for a major disaster declaration for the recent severe winter storms and atmospheric river systems and ask that you approve it expeditiously. The State has experienced a nearly uninterrupted series of storms since February 21, 2023, and the effects are ongoing. The intensity and damages of the storms have overwhelmed state resources and require federal assistance, coordination, and action to supplement state and local efforts.

The recent weather events caused widespread flooding, erosion, power outages, and road closures across the state that have threatened the lives and livelihoods of hundreds of thousands of Californians. The storms damaged and continue to threaten federal and state highways and roads, critical infrastructure, homes, and buildings.

Complicating the emergency response effort further, these recent storms brought heavy precipitation and high winds to counties still responding to the effects of the December 2022 storms (FEMA Disaster DR-4683-CA). State and local resources that were already strained due to response and recovery efforts have now been pushed to the limit responding to the current crisis.

The severity of these storms requires additional coordination and a wider range of longterm federal recovery programs. Therefore, we urge you to expeditiously approve California's request for a major disaster declaration and provide all categories of public assistance, individual assistance, and direct federal assistance for all counties set forth in the Governor's request, along with hazard mitigation statewide.

Sincerely,

Zoe Lofgren

Member of Congress

Ken Calvert

Member of Congress

Alex Padilla

United States Senator

Dianne Feinstein

United States Senator

Member of Congress

David G. Valadao Member of Congress Kevin McCarthy Speaker of the House Doug LaMalfa
Member of Congress

Young Kim

Member of Congress

Kevin Kiley Member of Congress

Michelle Steel Member of Congress

Jay Obernolte Member of Congress Nancy Pelosi

Member of Congress

Jimmy Panetta

Member of Congress

Robert Garcia Member of Congress

Salud Carbajal Member of Congress

Judy Chu

Member of Congress



John S. Duarte Member of Congress

Grace F. Napolitano Member of Congress

Mike Garcia
Member of Congress

Linda T. Sánchez Member of Congress

Winds J. Janz

Darrell Issa Member of Congress Ami Bera, M.D. Member of Congress

Tom McClintock Member of Congress

Tony Cárdenas Member of Congress

Tony Cardenes

Julia Brownley Member of Congress

Jared Huffman Member of Congress



Norma J. Torres Member of Congress

Jimmy Gomez
Member of Congress

Mike Levin
Member of Congress

Mark DeSaulnier
Member of Congress

Eric Swalwell Member of Congress Sara Jacobs Member of Congress

Pete Aguilar Member of Congress

Katie Porter Member of Congress

John Garamendi Member of Congress

torament:

Anna G. Eshoo Member of Congress Adam B. Schiff Member of Congress Nanette Diaz Barragán
Member of Congress

Raul Ruiz, M.D.
Member of Congress

J. Luis Correa Member of Congress

Sydney Kamlager Dove Member of Congress

Doris Matsui Member of Congress

Don's Matsui

Mike Thompson
Member of Congress

Josh Harder Member of Congress

Ro Khanna

Member of Congress

Barbara Lee

Member of Congress

Ted W. Lien

Ted W. Lieu

Member of Congress

evin Mullin

Kevin Mullin Member of Congress

Scott H. Peters

Member of Congress

Brad Sherman

Member of Congress

Mark Takano

Member of Congress

Mark Jakan

Mafine Waters

Juan Vargas

Member of Congress

Maxine Waters

Member of Congress