Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

April 12, 2024

The Honorable Gina Raimondo U.S. Secretary of Commerce 1401 Constitution Ave NW Washington, DC 20230

RE: California National Semiconductor Technology Center (NSTC) Headquarters

Dear Secretary Raimondo,

As members of the California congressional delegation, we write to express our strong support for Governor Newsom's January 29, 2024, letter requesting the establishment of the National Semiconductor Technology Center (NSTC) headquarters in California. Especially in light of the Department of Commerce's recent decision to revoke the Notice of Funding Opportunity for the construction, modernization, or expansion of semiconductor research and development (R&D) facilities, we urge you to consider the unique and critical advantages California brings to the table: its unparalleled leadership in technology innovation, a thriving and collaborative ecosystem, and a deep commitment to fostering a diverse and skilled workforce.

Fueled by Silicon Valley's culture of innovation, California has established the world's foremost and most complete semiconductor ecosystem. The state's diverse talent pool, nurtured by prestigious R1 universities, minority-serving institutions, and federally funded research labs, fuels groundbreaking advancements while establishing the state as a leading hub for workforce education and training. This ecosystem represents a powerful collaboration among industry leaders, dynamic entrepreneurs, skilled researchers, dedicated workforce training partners, top-tier research universities, and insightful private investors. Together, these entities efficiently and seamlessly translate ideas from conceptualization to real-world application. This environment places California at the cutting edge of semiconductor technologies and innovation, and thus emerging fields like quantum computing, artificial intelligence, advanced communications, and innovative energy solutions.

As a pivotal player in the semiconductor industry, the state consistently brings together thought leaders and innovators across various sectors, including industry, academia, and government. This role has been instrumental in incubating cutting-edge technologies and solidifying California's position as a global leader in next-generation innovations. In the absence of direct federal investments to spur and scale private R&D activities, it is even more imperative that the NSTC be best positioned for success. A decision to leverage California's existing resources will maximize the impact of available CHIPS funding and demonstrate the administration's dedication to advancing U.S. global leadership and to accelerating industries of the future.

We strongly believe California is the ideal choice for the National Center for the Advancement of Semiconductor Technology – or Natcast – to operate the NSTC headquarters.

This decision will not only unlock groundbreaking technological advancements but also solidify the United States' position as the leader in the global semiconductor sector.

Sincerely,

Alex Padilla United States Senator

Zoe Lofgren Member of Congress Chair, California Democratic Congressional Delegation

Laphonza Butler United States Senator

Felosi ancy

Nancy Pelosi Member of Congress

dy Chu

Judy Chu () Member of Congress

Don's Matsur

Doris Matsui Member of Congress

alar

Pete Aguilar Member of Congress

wellinde

Eric Swalwell Member of Congress

Scott H. Peters Member of Congress

Katie Porter Member of Congress

Ami Bera, M.D. Member of Congress

Jacobs

Member of Congress

min Summen

Julia Brownley Member of Congress

Anna G. Eshoo Member of Congress

Mark Jaban

Mark Takano Member of Congress

, rin Mullin

Kevin Mullin Member of Congress

Grace & Mapslitano Grace F. Napolitano

Member of Congress

Robert Garcia Member of Congress

ile Shonpon

Mike Thompson Member of Congress

Jimmy Gomez

Member of Congress

O CLI

Salud Carbajal Member of Congress

J. Luis Correa Member of Congress

Janament.

John Garamendi Member of Congress

Mark DeSaulnier Member of Congress

Nanette Diaz Barragán

Nanette Diaz Barragán Member of Congress

Tony Cardenes

Tony Cárdenas Member of Congress

Jim Costa Member of Congress

tarl

Josh Harder Member of Congress

Jared Huffman Member of Congress

Ro Khanna Member of Congress

Ville Jer

Mike Levin Member of Congress

Jimmy Panetta Member of Congress

Aude J. Jaing

Linda T. Sánchez Member of Congress

Sydney Kamlage Dove Member of Congress

abare

Barbara Lee Member of Congress

Ted W. Lien

Ted W. Lieu Member of Congress

Raul Ruiz, M.D. Member of Congress

Adam B. Schiff Member of Congress

Bred Sherman

Brad Sherman Member of Congress

Norma 8

Norma J. Torres Member of Congress

Vargos

Juan Vargas Member of Congress

Mafine Waters

Maxine Waters Member of Congress